Skip navigation

North west across Loch Scavaig

I made this picture on a recent personal work trip to the Isle of Skye. It was shot from the shore at Elgol, looking N.W. across Loch Scavaig towards the Cuillins, just as the tide reached it’s highest point, and with an incoming squall just about to hit.

I first became aware of Elgol after seeing Joe Cornish’s excellent book ‘First Light’ and it has become a location I don’t think I’ll ever tire of. The drama of the Cuillins, the fascinating shore line of Elgol and the unpredictable nature of Scottish weather prove to have an irresistible draw for me.

For those who are interested, the picture was made using an Alpa 12 MAX with Sinar eMotion 75 + Schneider Alpa Apo-Switar 5.6/36 mm lens, plus a Lee 0.9 ND Grad. Planning for high tide was made simple using the excellent Tides Planner app.